torrie's travels

WHERE WILL I GO NEXT?

The Most Beautiful Place in the World October 9, 2016

Filed under: Uncategorized — Torrie Schneider @ 3:26 pm

Today we got an early start, considering we had a somewhat late night. But we had a lot of ground to cover. As we left Dingle we took the scenic route off of the peninsula in order to go through Conor Pass, which is in the Mt. Brandon range. It is the highest paved pass in Ireland. It was beautiful. I had never seen it before, so I was glad to experience it. The drive up and out was a little scary…I think it was even worse than the Ring of Kerry in some places!

We then made it to Tarbert with ease and boarded the ferry. We chose to cross the bay by ferry instead of driving all the way up to Limerick and back down. It was pretty slick. Then we quickly made our way to Kilkee and drove the Loop Head Drive. This was another 25 kms of gorgeous scenery. There were some cliffs that my travel book said could rival the Cliffs of Moher (they don’t, but they were still amazing!). It was a really beautiful drive and we had the most perfect weather for it. Mid-60’s and no wind. It was lovely!

We had lunch in Kilkee at a pub called Hickie’s. I wasn’t sure how it was going to be, but I shouldn’t doubt these pubs anymore because we always have amazing food. I had one of the best Chicken Caesar salads I’ve ever had. Tracey and Jaime had stuffed chicken and they said it was really good, too.

Then we finished the final leg of the day, up to the Cliffs of Moher. This was the second time I had been there, but it still took my breath away. I don’t know what it is, but it is the most majestic view I’ve ever seen. I mean, the whole coast of Ireland (the Wild Atlantic Way) is awe-inspiring, but the Cliffs are just spectacular.

We then toyed with staying in Doolin or Lisdoonvarna. Doolin is where we will be catching the Aran Island ferry from tomorrow. But as my travel guide says, “there’s no there there.” And there wasn’t. So we checked it out, but decided to move on to Lisdoonvarna, which is slightly bigger. Or, well, would have been had half the town not closed already. It’s still the last weekend of the Matchmaking Festival, called “The Outing” because it’s the gay weekend, but apparently lots of places are closed. We tried five places before finally finding a room at the sixth. I was starting to get nervous and flashbacks to 2012 in Dingle! Thankfully the sweetest ladies had a triple room for us and it’s perfect!

We’re pretty tuckered out, so we are having another laid back evening to recharge. Tomorrow we tackle Inis Mor! I loved the island in 2012, so I’m looking forward to going back! And biking the RIGHT path this time!

 

Leave a Reply

