torrie's travels

WHERE WILL I GO NEXT?

It Was Bound to Happen October 6, 2016

Filed under: Uncategorized — Torrie Schneider @ 5:47 pm

Yes, I have finally driven a manual transmission in Ireland. It was bound to happen. In 2012, Loren and I tried and I did a terrible job. So we quickly returned it and got an automatic (for not too much more money). Last time, I was all ready to drive a manual but when I got to the airport, they gave me an automatic with no additional charge. When we went to get our car on this trip, they wanted to charge me 60 euro a day extra for an automatic. Nope. It was definitely difficult to get used to. It takes me less time each trip to get used to driving on the wrong side of the car and the wrong side of the street, but getting used to driving a 6-speed with your left hand? Much more difficult. There is so much more to focus on! But eventually I got used to it…sort of.

We drove to Dun Laoghaire first because I’ve wanted to see the cute little seaside town where Bono lives. It’s essentially a suburb of Dublin. We had lunch in a burger place on the water and moved on. It was definitely cute! We made it to Waterford just in time to join a House of Waterford Crystal factory tour. It was fascinating! I didn’t think a crystal tour would be so interesting. But I loved it! And then I purchased things in the gift shop. I got a crystal shamrock paperweight for my new office.

We found our hotel and relaxed for a bit before heading out for dinner. We decided to walk to an Italian place and it was very difficult to find, but we got a nice walk in! The food was incredible! I had penne and tomato sauce and it was so tasty! Everyone loved their food. It was the cutest little café that was highly recommended in my travel guide.

We then had an early night. I was tired and felt like I was starting to get a cold, so I wanted to get as much sleep as possible for the lengthy car ride the next day! Waterford was a beautiful little town!

 

Leave a Reply

