torrie's travels

WHERE WILL I GO NEXT?

First taste of Pittsburgh June 12, 2016

Filed under: Uncategorized — Torrie Schneider @ 4:15 pm

I started my long travel day by getting up very early. 7:30am. When I’m on vacation, this counts as very early! I had breakfast at the hotel and got on the road. I had about a 4.5 hour drive to Pittsburgh, not counting lunch. Thankfully I found a Starbucks about 30 mins into the trip!

The trip was mostly uneventful. I had planned to eat in West Virginia, so I could check that state off my list. I took the exit for the downtown and was stunned about how rough it was. It was old, very run down, and just kind of sad. So I got back on the freeway and later found another Wheeling exit that had food. The drive overall was very boring. No great scenery or anything, which was disappointing.

I made it to my Inn in Pittsburgh at 2pm. I checked in (the place was lovely…it was a converted mansion and was really awesome) and immediately set off on foot to explore Pittsburgh. I was not wearing the right shoes (but I had to wear backless shoes because my Cardinals shoes had given me a blister on the back of my left heel the size of a quarter that I accidentally ripped off when I took the shoe off the night before….OUCH). They were the best sandals I had, but my feet are so ridiculous that I was in a lot of pain by the time I got back to my hotel.

I first walked toward PNC park, which was about 15 mins from where I was staying. It was a nice-looking park from the outside. I walked along the river to the Roberto Clemente Bridge, which was closed due it being a game day. There were great views of inside the park from the bridge. I crossed over into main downtown area and just walked. I ended up at a little greenspace, so I sat and rested for a minute. I realized that there was a big artist festival going on, so I walked through it and followed it for blocks. Then I realized I had ended up in Point State Park, which people had told me to check out. It wasn’t that great, but it was probably due to the festival and like 4000 food vendors!

One of the art “installations” were these painted rocking chairs placed all over the park. I sat in one and just rested. It was so very hot and I was so very tired, that I nearly fell asleep! But I was sitting facing the water and a cool fountain. Eventually I walked to the fountain, and the spray felt amazing! I decided to head back and walked along the river back to the bridge. By this time, my sandals had rubbed the skin off of the side of foot and it stung. Seriously, with my feet.

I got ready and went to the park. I had great seats for this game and it turned out I had even better neighbors. A guy and who I’m pretty sure was his niece sat next to me. We chatted the entire game and it was a lot of fun. The game went into extra innings and the Cards won on a dramatic double by pinch hitter Wainwright. So incredible! The park was beautiful, the company was great, and the Cards won in amazing fashion. It was, by far, one of the most enjoyable baseball game experiences of my life! But it was also very late by the time the game ended, so it was straight to bed with me!

 

Leave a Reply

