torrie's travels

WHERE WILL I GO NEXT?

Potpourri October 4, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — Torrie Schneider @ 3:54 pm

Isn’t that always the category on Jeopardy when there’s no distinct theme?  That was today.  I started by getting over to Kufurstendamm, aka Ku’Damm, a shi shi shopping area.  It was on my list, but also was like “if I miss it, I miss it.”. Well, that’s where the apple store is, so I had to go there because the charger had completely stopped working (you know, the one I bought a week and a half ago?).  I found the apple store and got the charger.  I was starving at this point, it was about 11:20 and I hadn’t eaten.  So I went to Hard Rock Café, which was across the street. Because, why not?  Well, they were still serving breakfast, until 11:30, so I thought I could wait 10 minutes.  But then the server came and said they had Pepsi. That was my cue to leave.

I set out in search of a fountain as recommended to me by Wood (you’ll have to see if I found the right one if I’m ever able to upload photos).  I then saw ads for an Irish pub in the Europa Center.  So in I went!  Unfortunately they served very little food (and no fish and chips… what the H?), but I found chicken and chips and a Berry Magnets.  Yum!

Then I made my way to Checkpoint Charlie.  I was very much looking forward to this part.  The checkpoint that is there is a replica, but there is a museum.  It was horribly overpriced (12 euro) and a terrible museum.  There was so much information, literally most of the walls were COVERED in information (which was in 4 languages and never presented in the same order…v frustrating).  It was just massive posters of info upon posters if info.  It started with the end of WW2 (obvs), but just included so much random info that I could not possibly take it all in.  So I decided early on that I was going to focus just on the info about the escape attempts at this checkpoint (and its surroundings).  It was fascinating.  So many people risked their lives either trying to escape oppressive communism or helping people escape oppressive communism.  But the people were ingenuous.  The ways they came up with to help people escape…a car engine block, a mini submarine, tunnels (lots of tunnels), an amp box, etc.  It’s amazing what people will do for freedom!

I then walked toward where I thought Hitler’s former bunker was.  I don’t know if I found the right sign or not. I know it is generally a parking lot now and that there is just a sign.  But the sign I found had other info on there as well (about that site), so I don’t know 100% if that was it.  Knowing it wasn’t any big memorial, I wasn’t going to knock myself out looking for it.  Looking for where a most cowardly mad man killed himself.

I then relaxed at the hostel a bit before heading out for dinner.  Aimee and Kim, my Canadian roommates from the last two nights, told me about a great schnitzel place around the corner.  So I thought I would check it out.  I got a schnitzel with mushroom sauce (yep, I got it, Aimee, if you’re reading this!), cole slaw, and fries.  It was all very good.  It was just a hold in the wall place, with good food, great prices, and Skee-Lo on the radio.  Oh yeah, I wish I was a little bit taller…

I spent the rest of the evening planning out my week.  I changed my rental car reservation (from 4 days to 3), decided what I could cut out of Brussels, Bruges, or Rouen in order to give me a little more time in Amsterdam (and not get up before the crack of dawn for a train tomorrow!).  No idea why I only gave myself two nights there (esp considering the train ride is 6 hours and 45 minutes!).  Could probably have used there nights, but what are ya gonna do?

I have been adventurous with food so far (for me, anyway), but I am definitely ready to eat different foods.  Poland, Czech Republic, and especially after 15 days in Austria and Germany, I am ready for new things.  And the foods my friend Judy  recommended I try in Amsterdam are sounding mighty tasty (shockingly, none was a pannekoeken!).

 

2 Responses to “Potpourri”

  1. Aimee Says:

    So glad you tried the schnitzel! Was great meeting you, enjoy your travels, I can’t wait to read all about it!

    • It was a great suggestion! It was so good meeting you, too! I would love to hear how Auschwitz went for you today. Enjoy Warsaw and have a safe flight back to Canada! Keep in touch!


Leave a Reply

