torrie's travels

WHERE WILL I GO NEXT?

Munchen: Concentration Camp, Glockenspiel, and Oktoberfest September 25, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — Torrie Schneider @ 10:57 am

I traveled from Salzburg to Munich yesterday and braved the public transportation to my hotel for the first time.  Before I just cabbed it and learned the system while I was there.  This time I was confident that I could do it right away, knowing that my hotel was very close to a stop.  It took asking some questions at the train station, but I made it.  I checked in, only to learn that the rooms aren’t all together.  No, in fact, they have several locations and my room?  In the building furthest away.  Because of course it is.  I thought I was going to die hiking that with my backpack.  Not to mention I had walked to the train station in Salzburg, too, so I was exhausted.  I almost didn’t think I was going to make it.  Those of you who know me well know I do not like massages.  Well, my shoulders are about shot and I would love one right about now.  Thankfully I will be getting one in Baden Baden on Sunday or Monday.

So I made it to my room and checked the weather forecast for Munich and the two places I will be day-tripping to.  The forecast had changed, as a result, so did my plans.  I headed out to Dachau (more on that in another post, I will combine that with the AB post).  I had to stop partway through the museum because it was closing in 10 minutes.  I could’ve spent another hour there,  easy.  But at least I went through the entire memorial.  That’s the important part!

I got back in time for my planned Skype sash with the BF and then had some Italian for dinner at a local place just down the road.  It was nice.  Weird to be eating Italian in Germany, I know.

I decided today would be a sleep in day and almost didn’t set the alarm, but I found out the Glockenspiel only goes off at 11am (not sure if they still consider this summer, when it goes off two other times).  But of course I couldn’t sleep in.  Because that’s my luck!  Oh well.  It was cold and rainy this morning, but the Glockenspiel was cool.  There was a walking tour of the city starting nearby and the (Irish… weird, I know) tour guide said that this was the world’s 2d most overrated tourist attraction, the 1st being the Anatomical Clock in Prague!  Haha!

My foot has been increasingly giving me pain, on the top of my foot, so I decided I wasn’t going to try to walk to the Residenz, so I hopped back on the subway.  I toured the Residenz, event though I decided that I’m kind of not a palace girl.  It was the Palace used by the Bavarian Emperor’s (think Maximilians and Ludwigs).  There were interesting parts, basically the unique parts.  The Antiquarium, for instance.  Beautiful.  While I like looking at palace apartments, they are starting to blend together.  And many don’t allow you to take photos, so I don’t have independent recollection of them.

When I was finished, I realized just how close Marienplatz is and walked back.  I then chanced upon a Biergarten/farmer’s market.  It was lovely.  I wish I had known it was there, I would’ve brought my tablet and spent time sitting there and reading.  Instead, I just found a stand where I could get a cheesy Brat (with bread… so many come without bread) and a DC.  As I was eating, an American couple asked me where I got it, so I pointed out the stand to them.  They returned to my table and we chatted.  They were awesome.  They gave me tips on Oktoberfest, Neuschwanstein, etc.  It was just nice to talk to people without a language barrier.  He was from CA and she was from TX.  We had a great convo!

Then I went to St. Peterskirche (St. Peter’s Church).  This church had one of the most gorgeous alter pieces I have ever seen.  It was marvelous!  It wasn’t as big of a church as I have seen on this trip, so I didn’t need to spend a lot of time there.  I decided that it was 2pm and that was as good a time as any to hit up Oktoberfest.

Now, you may know that I am not a beer drinker.  So this was always going to be interesting.  But the guy from CA said that one particular tent had cider!  No.  Way.  So I was pumped.  Until I walked into the first tent.  It was the “regular” Augustiner tent and it was UNREAL.  Most of the tables are reserved, so if you don’t have a reservation, you can’t sit.  I was told that there were high top tables that weren’t reserved and you could get one of those.  There weren’t any in that tent and I decided that I was very overwhelmed.  I liked walking around outside and the fair or carnival atmosphere (and the smell of roasting nuts… and no, that’s not a euphemism for anything!).  But the tents were intimidating.  I found the Augustiner tent with fish, which is how the chick from TX described the tent that had cider.  It was much less crowded than the other, but I still thought the tables were reserved.  I almost left, defeated, but I asked someone.  The tables aren’t reserved until the evening.  So I sat by myself and began to write out post cards for awhile before being served.  They did not have cider.  Wah wah. But the guy told me that one of the beers was citrus-lemonade.  Or at least that’s what I think he said.  So I got it.  It was as big as my head.  And I drank about half.  Which, for a non-beer drinker is pretty good.  I wasn’t a big fan, but it was way better than that pilsner in Prague.

Meanwhile, some older creeper from the next table decided to sit down across from me and started speaking German.  He held a camera and gestured to his friends.  I thought he wanted me to take a picture of them.  When he realized I spoke English, he did his best and I understood “best friend”.  I kept saying, you want me to take your picture and gestured.  Eventually some younger kid “translated” that creeper’s BFF, an even bigger creeper, wanted his photo WITH ME.  So awkward.  What’s a girl to do?  So I moved over there and tried to stay as far as possible and still be in the picture, but BFF creeper put his arm around me and squeezed, trying to put his head next to mine.  Um, no.  I got out of there.  Shortly thereafter, creeper number one interrupted my postcard writing to ask, “smoking?” No, I’m not going outside to smoke with you. Then he asked, gesturing to the postcard, “family?”. Yes, family.  Now go smoke.  (As an aside, when I sat at their table for the photo, creeper number one asked where I was from, so I said, “the States.” he goes, “the UNITED states?  Of AMERICA?”.  He was very excited that I was American.)

So I left a little while later, giving up on the beer the size of my head, and walked around a little more.  By this time, my foot had had enough.  I started to feel disappointed in myself again that I wasn’t really enjoying Oktoberfest like I thought I should, but then I remembered that this isn’t about what other people are going to think.  And if it wasn’t that much fun (because I don’t drink beer and because I was by myself), then so be it.  If my foot is killing me and I want nothing more than to go back to my room, then that’s what I’m going to do!

I am taking off for day trips the next two days.  Tomorrow will be an early one, heading to Neuschwanstein Castle (aka, the Disney Castle).  Then Saturday is Zugspitze, the highest peak in Germany!

 

2 Responses to “Munchen: Concentration Camp, Glockenspiel, and Oktoberfest”

  1. Jessica Tallant Says:

    I love reading about all of your stops on your adventure. Never feel disappointed in yourself, as others have said this is YOUR trip. You are an inspiration and should be so proud that you are out there experiencing the world! I love reading your posts 🙂

  2. Aw, thank you!!! I appreciate that. I’m trying to keep that in mind, but sometimes it’s hard! I’m so glad that people are enjoying my posts. Sometimes I wonder! 🙂


Leave a Reply

