torrie's travels

WHERE WILL I GO NEXT?

Auschwitz-Birkenau September 16, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — Torrie Schneider @ 1:32 pm

This will be a short(er) post.  I could hardly digest everything I saw, smelled, and heard today, let alone process it enough to talk about it here.  I will likely need to journal about this myself before I am able to talk publicly about it.  There is no way to make people understand what it’s like without experiencing it for yourself.  When I skyped with my boyfriend tonight, he asked about it.  I started crying and said, I can’t.  I told him that I stood in a gas chamber today.  How am I supposed to talk about that?

I was proud of myself for my food choices today, though!  I found a Polish bakery on my way to the bus station, I think it was called Buczek.  Anyway, I pointed at a pastry that looked like it might be good.  It was round and filled with something, which I usually don’t like.  This wasn’t any jelly like I’ve ever had before.  It was sort of brown. But it was tasty!  I was on my tour between 11:30-3, so I missed lunch.  Not like I had an appetite.  But afterward, I knew it would be a few hours before we were back in Krakow, so I got a hot dog at a snack bar.  It was so-so.  On my way home from the bus station, I wanted something quick.  So I went into a grocery store and bought a sandwich of questionable content.  It had some thin slice of meat, lettuce, and an unrecognizable spread.  With a round roll.  I got some chips, still avoiding the weird ones.  Plus two candy bars!  One of my favorite parts of traveling is trying the different candy!

So I am treating tonight as a get-away night, which it technically is.  But I don’t leave Krakow until 10pm tomorrow.  I will be taking my first night train… this one to Prague.  I have a lot on the itinerary for tomorrow (Wawel Hill and Castle, (hopefully) Oskar Schindler’s Factory (no available tickets online, but I’m hoping it just means you can’t buy tickets online that close to the date), and the Eagle Pharmacy (the exhibition of the Cracow Ghetto Pharmacy…I read his memoir this winter so I was very excited to learn, yesterday, that there is an exhibition!), so I will pack up tonight everything that I can and leave my bag in the locker tomorrow until I need to leave for the train station.  I am wondering what I am going to do once I am in a room shared with other girls.  My bag practically explodes when I start to unpack it.   Crap everywhere!  I guess I will find out Thursday night!  (After Prague, I won’t be sharing a room again until Berlin… so I won’t have much practice!)

I didn’t think that 5 days in Poland would be an insufficient amount of time.  But I think I could have used one more day in both Warsaw and Krakow.  Either way, I am so glad to have come!

 

2 Responses to “Auschwitz-Birkenau”

  1. michellle Says:

    So jealous. Seems like a great trip. Challenging but fun.

  2. Yesterday was very challenging. Other than that, I don’t think it’s been too bad. That might change after being on the road for so long. Even though I’m finally here, it still kind of seems like I will be home in another week!


Leave a Reply

