torrie's travels

WHERE WILL I GO NEXT?

Eurail Pass? Check! June 6, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — Torrie Schneider @ 8:01 pm

So June was the month to purchase my Eurail pass…the pass that will provide me with 80-90% of my transportation while in Europe.  I can’t believe it’s June already!  When I started planning my monthly “big” purchases, I knew I would leave the Eurail pass for last (because you have to activate it within 6 months of receiving it, but I didn’t want to have it quite that far in advance).  Then again, I need to start booking some of my first train reservations (night train from Krakow to Prague, for instance) 60 days in advance.  (Weirdly, my global Eurail pass, which is valid in 24 European countries, is not valid in Poland.  Other Eurail passes are valid in Poland, just not the global pass.  But I emailed someone with the train company I will be taking into the Czech Republic and she said I could pay for a trip from Krakow to the Czech border and they would take care of the rest.  Excellent and prompt customer service!)

I’ve been wanting to make this purchase since Sunday (June 1).  But I’ve restrained myself…for 5 days!  But whatever, no reason to wait at this point.  Plus, it’s the last big purchase I have to make in advance (aside from all the clothes/accessory shopping I will inevitably do!), so I wanted to just get it out of the way!  (I also purchased a full set of my skin care products this week that I will be taking…I wanted to make sure I had full bottles so it will last and Arbonne was having a great deal!)

So now that my major purchases are complete, I think it’s almost time to start making lists.  Up to now it’s been worthless to make lists.  There was just so much to think about and too many variables.  It’s probably not a bad idea to re-familiarize myself with “The Fashionista’s Guide to Packing” (http://herpackinglist.com/2013/03/fashionista-packing-list-backpacking-europe/) to remember what I will want to bring in terms of clothes, shoes, and accessories (everything has to be SO versatile!) so that if I run across something this summer I can get it.  And then make lists of all the little things that I need to take care of (make a will, arrange for my cousin fix my car, sell my car, arrange for my mail, set up bill pays, confirm with HR which pay periods I will be paid, etc. etc. etc.) so that I can get to things as soon as possible and not leave it all for the end!

I can’t believe that I will be gone 3 months from next Thursday.  It is definitely sneaking up on me!

 

Leave a Reply

