torrie's travels

WHERE WILL I GO NEXT?

A Little Bit of This, A Little Bit of That September 27, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — Torrie Schneider @ 4:59 pm

Today was a mash up of different things.  We got to sleep a little bit later again, today; which, after getting up so early yesterday (I realized when I woke up yesterday morning, my brother was still awake the previous day in Seattle…weird!), was welcome!  We are quickly becoming regulars at Pret-A-Manger, a chain here in London, for breakfast.  Then we walked through Green Park on our way to Buckingham again.  Before we left the hotel, I sent my friend Kirk a message because I knew he was flying in this morning for the game.  Well, as we approached Buckingham I heard my name.  There he was!  So strange.  We just happened to run into one another!

Jaime and I made it up close at the gates for the Changing of the Guard, which we were very excited about.  Until we realized what that meant.  It meant standing there for 2 hours (we arrived at about 10am and the changing starts between 11:15-11:30 and ends a little after noon) and eventually being crushed.  Seriously, it was like hand-to-hand combat in there.  I literally grabbed a woman’s arm who was trying shove in front of us (and who had pulled my hair) and pushed it back.  Along with the comment, “If you wanted to be in front, you should’ve gotten here at 10am like the rest of us.”  We had another pushy-mcpusherton behind us and Jaime and I kept pushing backwards because she was practically climbing on us.  Thankfully another woman next to us yelled at that one.  Honestly, if these people were going to feel me up like this, the least they could do is buy me dinner first.

After the changing (which also happened to be set mostly to Michael Jackson songs…so weird!), we made our way to Harrod’s for high tea.  It was a splurge, to the tune of $47, but hey, it’s a once-in-a-lifetime thing, right?!?!  I had tasty tea (Afternoon Special); two scones with strawberry and raspberry jam; finger sandwiches (four different kinds: Ham and piccalilli, Goat’s cheese with red onion marmalade, Coronation chicken with toasted almonds, and Scottish smoked salmon and cream cheese…but only one of which I ate…the salmon one ), and three tea fancies (sticky toffee pudding, a strawberry jam shortcake, and summer berry pudding.  The scones were delish!  I didn’t really like anything else, but I tried it all (except the ham sandwich, for obvious reasons).

I have been fighting a cold all week, but thought I had kicked it on Wednesday.  It came back with a vengeance yesterday, in the form of a horribly sore throat, so I got more cold meds at Boots last night.  My throat was better than yesterday, but after tea I was not feeling well.  We made our way to Trafalgar Square, which was quite interesting.  The lions are enormous!  And there were lots of interesting people there, that’s for sure!  We walked around the corner to the National Portrait Gallery and I got to see some Tudor Portraits, which were great!  But the main reason I wanted to go there was to see Kate’s first official portrait. I couldn’t find it anywhere…only to learn that it was now on loan in Bath.  Where I was yesterday.  Grrr.

I decided to throw in the towel at that point and go take a nap.  I was just not feeling well and although some caffeine may have helped, I really felt like I need more sleep.  Jaime went shopping and I napped.  Then we met at Oxford Street and went to the British Museum.  I was excited to see the Rosetta Stone, but otherwise I could take it or leave it.  I had suggested cutting it out last night, as I knew we would be pressed for time.  But Jaime and I had a miscommunication.  I thought she didn’t really want to see the Portrait Gallery and wanted to see the British Museum and she thought I wanted the opposite.  So we spent more time in the British Museum than either of us wanted!  It was after 7:30 pm and I hadn’t eaten anything, so we decided to go and eat, which was when we learned of the miscommunication!  Doh!

After several attempts to find a pub that was serving food, we decided on Garfunkel’s.  We think it might be the London equivalent of TGI Friday’s or something, but I was hungry enough to eat just about anything you put in front of me.  Including Burger King that was across the street!

Tomorrow is going to be another busy day, so my goal is to get to bed and to sleep before midnight!

 

Leave a Reply

