torrie's travels

WHERE WILL I GO NEXT?

Reflecting on Ireland October 14, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Torrie Schneider @ 9:22 pm

So as I sit here and watch my St. Louis Cardinals taking on the San Francisco Giants in the NLCS, I realized that it has been exactly one month since I arrived home from Ireland.  Where does the time go??

In the meantime,  I have drank a good amount of Magner’s (including the tasty Bulmer’s I brought with me), eaten at Irish pubs/restaurants, and baked scones!  A friend told me this week that there is a great Irish store in St. Paul.  I had no idea.  I looked at the website and saw that I can get my Irish (European?) chocolate there!  I can’t wait to go!

I’ve been trying to think about where I want to go next (well, besides Denver in November, that is).  The problem is that now that I have experienced international travel, I love it!  But Ireland has been on my heart for almost five years.  I want to travel to many places, but none of them capture my heart like Ireland. So I need to resist the urge to just keep going back to Ireland each year!  I think I have come up with a plan, though.  London was high on the list and I just learned that the MN Vikings will be playing in Wembley Stadium next September.  I think London it is!

I have always meant to upload some of the photos I took while on vacation, so here are some Dublin photos!

First up, essentially right off the plane, was Grafton Street and St. Stephen’s Green.

Followed by Trinity College.

That night we went to Temple Bar and met some really cool folks.  Like these guys.  Our friends Collin and Uncle Pat from Co. Meath!  (That’s my friend, Loren, on the left and I am on the right.)

The next day we went to Guinness.  I couldn’t drink it.  Sorry, all, but for a non-beer drinker, it was too much!

Then we went to Kilmainham Gaol.  One of my favorite stops.  So much history!

Finally, we went to the General Post Office.  Unfortunately, it was after business hours, so we weren’t allowed to go in.

 

2 Responses to “Reflecting on Ireland”

  1. Loren Says:

    London sounds like a great choice for your next trip. Also, if you want to go back to Ireland again, I say go for it!

  2. can you believe we’ve been back for a month?!?! crazy!!


Leave a Reply

