torrie's travels

WHERE WILL I GO NEXT?

Day One in Dublin September 4, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Torrie Schneider @ 1:11 pm

Well, we made it! We didn’t sleep much at all on the plane, unfortunately, so we were dragging all day. We met up with Liz and her friend, but they couldn’t hang with us. So, after getting me some Starbucks, we meandered Grafton Street to St. Stephen’s Green. It’s so beautiful and peaceful. You would have no idea it is in the middle of the hustle and bustle of Dublin.

Then we walked some city streets and went into the National Gallery. It was basically an art museum. It was under renovation, so we didn’t see a ton. Then we went to Trinity College. Another beautiful oasis in the city center. We saw the Book of Kells and the Old Library Long Room. Unfortunately we couldn’t take pictures of either. The library was incredible. I loved the smell of all the musty old books. I loved it!!!

Then we decided we were about to pass out, so we went to the area of our hostel (across the street from Trinity) and ate at the pub next door. It was called Doyle’s and we split a “chicken and mayonnaise” panini. We each had a beer…I had my first Bulmer’s. It was tasty, but I probably should’ve had water!

Then we checked into the hostel and promptly fell asleep. We flipped for the bunks and I got the lower one. We ate both severely dehydrated and are now showering and getting ready to go out and about. All in all, not a bad first day!

 

3 Responses to “Day One in Dublin”

  1. Katie Odegaard Says:

    Torrie!!!! You are in Ireland and I am jealous!!!!!!! I am using a lot of exclamation point so you know I’m truly jealous and not just kidding. 🙂 But I hope you have an amazing time and write lots more.

  2. Liz tolzmann Says:

    Sorry that we couldn’t hang long…. But I really wanted you guys to chill on day one! The first day is always overwhelming, but I was very excited to welcome you guys in town!!! Have fun!!! I hope you picked up the tickets at the front desk! I love grafton street and the park!!

  3. jaime Says:

    Yeah! I hope today was equally good. I added Dublin to my world clock, so I know what time it is there…its night so I hope youre partying or sleeping! Enjoy and keep writing 🙂


Leave a Reply

