torrie's travels

WHERE WILL I GO NEXT?

Blarney! March 22, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Torrie Schneider @ 6:31 pm

That’s right…we’re going to Blarney Castle to kiss the Blarney Stone.  Or at least I am going to kiss the Blarney Stone.  For someone as OCD as I, you might be surprised to hear that I am going to do that.  Rumor has it that people pee on it.  Not to mention all the people who’s lips kiss it.  No matter.  I will bring Purell!  Nothing’s stopping me from kissing the Blarney Stone.  In my job, I need all the eloquence and persuasiveness I can get, right?

Not familiar with the story behind the Blarney Stone?  It dates back to one of my fave eras (thanks to my BF Jonathan Rhys Meyers)…the Tudors!  The Blarney Stone was set into the armament of the Castle in 1446.  When Queen Elizabeth I reigned (daughter of Henry VIII and Anne Boleyn), she sought an oath of loyalty (or the castle) from the Lord of Blarney.  The Lord used great diplomacy in his communications with the Queen, never being disrespectful, but never giving in, either!  Upon receipt of letters from the Lord, Queen Elizabeth was rumored to state, “It’s all a bunch of blarney!”

So this will be me come September!  On my back, tilting backwards, and being held onto by an employee!

 

And here’s a photo of the Castle!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

