torrie's travels

WHERE WILL I GO NEXT?

Oops…forgot one! March 3, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Torrie Schneider @ 1:27 am

So I thought I was finished with Dublin sites, but I forgot one.  And I can’t believe that I forgot it…it’s very possibly the one I am looking forward to the most!  Kilmainham Gaol!!  For those of you who aren’t aware, “gaol” is “jail” in Ireland and England.  Kilmainham played a large part in the various Irish rebellions, as it held, and in some cases, executed the rebel prisoners. Kilmainham Gaol was built in 1796 and has been a museum, I think, since the 1980’s.

If you’ve ever watched Michael Collins, both Collins and Irish rebel leader Eamon de Valera were imprisoned there after the Easter Rising.   The leaders of that rebellion were executed, but both Collins and de Valera were released.  Collins and de Valera continued fighting for Irish independence from England.  It’s an inspirational story that, unfortunately, does not have a happy ending.  At least not for Michael Collins.  But I appreciate this quote from de Valera: “It is my considered opinion that in the fullness of time history will record the greatness of Michael Collins and it will be recorded at my expense.”

 

Leave a Reply

